Home Sweet Home…

No matter what games I play, or how many times I play them, the Pokémon series will always have a special place in my heart. Frank things it’s odd (“not in a bad way” he says) how much I like the games. Ah well. There are quite a few odd things about me.

Pokémon Red was the first game I ever owned. My older brother Matt gave it to me on my 11th birthday along with a translucent purple Gameboy Color, and Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening (which I have never ever been able to beat…). It was like instead of going to Hogwarts, I got to go to Pallet Town. I watched the anime for a while, too, but after Ash lost the Pokémon League (which wasn’t at all like the games, and I didn’t like that), the show kind of lost flavour to me. I watched the movies up until the third one, but after that…meh. The game, however, stuck with me all through middle school, the awkward high school years, and was even some nice relief and conversation starters in college. I’ll always love Generation 1 the best, but I won’t count out the new ones that are coming out (BLACK AND WHITE 2 OMG…).

Anyway, this pattern was actually one of the main reasons I started cross stitching, and I’m really glad I finally finished it when I did, and I like how it turned out. It is my favourite one to date. And will probably stay there for a while.

The pattern can be found here: [link]

100_0455
img_03181-e1341497008608
img_03171-e1341496582567

 

As you can see, I altered the pattern a bit. I like the sampler feel of the original, so maybe I’ll do it again some day, but for now, I wanted the whole thing the reek of Pokénostalgia. The border and font are both from the original games.

Like I said, this is my favourite so far (though there is a close second in my queue right now, just waiting to be stitched), so I saved it for last. The only finished stitches I have left are surprises and haven’t been sent out yet, so they can’t be posted. Cast gifts will be finished and framed by tonight (ahead of schedule!), and the dragon piece is coming along swimmingly. Because I cannot focus on one thing at a time, I shall also be starting some other gift projects, too, for work, and a couple tiny things for babyful family members.

This entry was posted in Cross stitch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home Sweet Home…

  1. Pingback: Steotchalong Finale: No Longer a Mystery! | Backstage Stitches

Leave a Reply

