Sent to sea.

I sent out a package to Frank on Monday, and threw some stitches in with his sound equipment. He got them yesterday, so here they are!

The first one was a small one – about 2 x 3 inches. His favourite animal is penguin, and I changed the scarf and cap to his school colours, purple and gold. The original pattern can be found here: [link]

Cute, eh? I’ve had this pattern for a while now, and of course when Frank’s gone, I stitch it for him 😛

This little guy was stitched on a piece of 22 count Aida left from the Pokémon Home Sweet Home stitch.

The second piece I made for Frank was an idea I thought was original, but I found another one here: [link] :/ We’ll just say that great minds think alike.

Frank studied sound in school, and currently is working on a cruise ship (!) as a sound technician, so I thought this would be a neat idea.

It is also my concession to cutesy cross stitch. That is an actual sound clip. I recorded myself in a program called Audacity (it’s free!) saying “Frank, I love you”

All together now: “D’awww”

Now the cynics! *vomit* 😀

When I showed this to my mother, and explained it to her, she just looked at me, and said “You are really nerdy.” Thanks, Mom. It’s true, though. And Frank thought it was cute, so there.

I shrunk the sound waves to cross stitch size, and stitched it on black 14 count Aida. This was the first time I’ve used railroad stitches exclusively for the whole project.

100_0581

It makes it look neater on bigger count cloths, and they say it saves thread. I like the way it looks, but I don’t like using it on all my projects. It doesn’t take any more time, but it seems more tedious because you’re doing each line twice.

In other news, I’m almost done colouring the dragon, and I should have that framed tonight or tomorrow. I also quickly stitched up one of the technician gifts yesterday. One more, and a sack of potatoes, before I can give it to them. (They’re making me food, I have to contribute.) Also, I finished my new pattern to sell, so hopefully I’ll have that up in etsy soon 🙂

This entry was posted in Cross stitch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sent to sea.

  1. Perky says:

    I like the penguin – may have to give it a go myself one day

  2. That penguin is so cute! They are my boyfriend’s favourite animals too! I can’t get the link to the pattern to work though! *cries*

  3. Pingback: Tiny Tools of the Trade | Backstage Stitches

  4. Pingback: Hanukkah Gifts for my Bestie | Backstage Stitches

Leave a Reply

