Dragon Scales

I know you are all on the edges of your seats…biting your nails…It is FINISHED! The Dragon is coloured, the letters are lettered. The whole thing is signed (btw: I have a signature now), framed, and handed off!

The tech gifts are also finished, but those will be posted tomorrow.

Today is all about DRAGONS.

I like theย  way it looks in the frame ๐Ÿ™‚ It turned out to be about 8 x 10 in.

Here’s a detail shot of the dragon:

100_0591

I used three threads on it, first outlining and then filling in the colour. I chose half stitch because a) it was far too difficult to make full stitches with three threads on 22 count Aida and b) I think it looks more like scales anyway.

I don’t know if this counts as embroidery. I tried to copy this from a picture (without tracing or anything), but I think it turned out pretty alright. I don’t think I’ll do it again any time soon, though.

And I started putting a signature on my pieces too:

100_0592-e1342296475877

I’ve started a new piece already, and should have a lot of time for stitches over the next two weeks, as my internet source at work is leaving for China for two weeks ๐Ÿ˜›

I’ll be finished with the new one soon, and then start on a NEW new one ๐Ÿ˜€

Always, comments are welcome.

This entry was posted in Cross stitch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dragon Scales

  1. K. Marie says:

    This is so funny!! I have a question….how in the world did you get the rings out of the fabric before you framed it??

    • Rachel says:

      I hand wash all my stitches, then let it air dry (if it’s nice, I’ll put it in the sun), and then (if I don’t feel it needs a rewashing) I iron it

      I’m lucky at the moment that my greenroom is right next to our costume shop, so I can do all that on my break ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Rachel says:

      I hand wash it, let it air dry (in the sun, if I can), and then iron it under a towel or muslin.

      Lucky for me, our greenroom is right next to our costume shop, so I can do all this on my breaks between shows

      • K. Marie says:

        Would I be able to hand wash any project or does it depend on the color of threads that I used?? I don’t want to ruin a project that I worked so hard to do so that’s what keeps me from washing it.

      • Rachel says:

        I totally understand!
        I’ve only ever had a problem with my fabric bleeding. Now I know to prewash black Aida before stitching with white! But no problems with thread.

        This site was was very helpful for me!
        http://withoutastitchon.blogspot.co.uk/2011/05/from-stitches-to-masterpeice-lesson-1.html

        Also, while I was skeptical about them when I saw the commercials, my costumer friends swear by those Shout Color Catcher sheets.They’ve been washing navy and hot pink shirts together all season, and the sheet has been coloured, but the shirts are their own colour. I haven’t used them while handwashing though

      • K. Marie says:

        Thanks so much!! I’ve got to take my daughter’s cross stitch out of the frame and wash it now so I can get that ugle ring out. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

