IHSW and WIPocalypse August 2013

IHSW post is a tad late, but it’s only because our Monday port is not really a good one for internet, so I have to either do it Sundays in Port Canaveral, FL or Tuesdays in the Bahamas.

When I compare my progress for WIPocalypse (the whole month) vs. IHSW (three days), the weekend was much more lucrative than any other time this month. Obviously, the weekend was part of the whole month, so it counts, too…but the weekend is about half of what I did all month…

Anyway, enough rambling. Pictures!

This month, I finished Cave Johnson’s Lemon Rant:

101_2271

I really wanted to post this on my door. The reason is that my door has been decorated with construction paper for my birthday. I left it up for some time. (You can see a picture of it here.) Then, a couple day ago, my room steward approached me and said to pick out the things I wanted, but he had to throw the rest away. I told him I would do it myself. The I asked my supervisor why there was such a stupid rule as to not let people decorate their cabin doors. I was told it was a fire hazard. Excuse my French, but…I call bullshit. If papering the (metal, by the way) walls was such a huge fire hazard, then we shouldn’t be allowed them in our rooms, nor should the schematics of the ship be posted anywhere and everywhere. I wanted to post this as protest, but a) I’d be afraid they’d take it away, and I worked so hard on it, and b) I’d be afraid they’d see it as a threat to burn the ship down. Not many people on the ship play video games, and those who do really only play the soccer/football based ones. Also not many of the people on the ship speak fluent English, and BURN YOUR HOUSE DOWN is in the most giant letters.

Ah well. /shiprant

Also I need to get a new frame. I got this one on clearance at WalMart, and now I know why.

For this weekend, I tried to tackle the Sprite Stitch Challenge for the month: Bling.

The premise was to make something from the games that is shiny. So…SHINY POKEMON! In shiny thread! The pictures don’t really do it justice. The gold shines so nicely, and the white sparkles like sugar. You can kind of seen it if you click the picture to enlarge.

 

Magikarp was an obvious choice for me. I mean, look at it. It’s majestic as shit. The shiny one is actually golden, and it’s the most useless of the original 151. But it turns into one of my absolute favourite shiny pokemon: the red Gyarados. Pretty much everyone has one because you can get one in the lake of rage in Gold/Silver/HeartGold/SoulSilver, but they are still really awesome. So I made the Magikarp first and will enter it, but I had to do the set ❤

The only problem is that I totally forgot how much of a bitch it is to work with metallic thread. Both pokemon will be made entirely of the shiny stuff, including the black outline. I haven’t made a piece that was totally metallic since this one.

Also, I was stitching both of these backstage, and each time I had to explain they were from video games. With the Lemon Rant, I got a polite nod and “Interesting,” but with the pokemon, weary from explaining, I simply said they were “a Japanese fish and dragon.” Not a lie, but then they left me to it. As I said before, only me and Frank play video games, mostly. Our light tech played old school Zelda, so he appreciates Cuccos, and such, but other than that, people here don’t really understand why I’d play them. Ah well.

I was proud of my weekend progress. Not so proud with my month’s progress. Cuccos wasn’t even touched. Though I did think about it before I committed to the Challenge piece.

Also, it’s starting to be that time of year again. August means starting Christmakkah presents and I’ve also signed up for September Mini Swap again! So many secret stitches for the next little while. Hopefully I’ll make some progress on Cuccos that I can post next month 🙂

Oops…this turned into a TL;DR post.

This entry was posted in Cross stitch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to IHSW and WIPocalypse August 2013

  1. Marcy says:

    Love the lemon rant! Congrats on getting it finished.

Leave a Reply

