A nice little house…

NSFW?

A couple of years ago, I auditioned for a musical. I watched the movie to prepare and everything. I didn’t get the part, and forgot about it.

Then I came to the Carnival Paradise. One of the shows we do is called 8 More Seconds, and is all country related. One of the songs was familiar, and it took me a couple shows to realise that it was from this musical. I immediately downloaded the movie, and kindled a love for that show.

The show in question?

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas.

The movie stars Dolly Parton and Burt Reynolds. It was also the movie that debuted the song “I Will Always Love You,” made famous by Whitney Houston. Yep, that song was originally a matron singing to a sheriff.

The first line of the movie is attention-getting and cross stitch inspiring. So I made one.

I’m particularly proud of this design. I designed the house myself to emulate the house used in the movie.

And my design:

IMG_0750

Now with the first line of the movie:

IMG_0751

“It was the nicest little whorehouse you ever saw”

It is interesting to me that I stitched the word “whorehouse” before anything else considered “subversive.” Well, it won’t be the last.

This entry was posted in Cross stitch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

