WIPocalypse June 2014

First, let me just say that the last couple of days have been crazy. I can let it out now, because the surprise is done: I took a work break from the ship (which took months of planning and paperwork) so that I could come home for my mother’s wedding. Catch: she had no idea. I was coming up with schemes to be able to Skype during the ceremony and such, all the while knowing I’d be able to come home. So, the wedding is tomorrow, and I just got home this morning after traveling for a little over 24 hours. I stitched a bit in the long layovers and flights 😀

So, Wipocalypse.

June 13 – Topic: Have you ever been to a stitch gathering such as a retreat or a festival? If so, tell us about it!

I can’t say that I have. It sounds interesting, though. I’d like to find out if there are any festivals or retreats near me, though timing is against me in most cases, because of the nature of my work. I have entered some of my work in the local fair, though, and that’s pretty humbling. I really can’t believe that I won second place last year.

Anyway, last WIPocalypse post, I mentioned an 8 piece series I’m working on that I can’t post yet. I was only through like 1.5 of them. I’m proud to say that I’ve finished 5 of 8 so far, and took a tiny break to make a few things not part of that project. Though, on the plane I started one more and I’m about half done with that one. Can’t wait till they’re finished!!!

First was a small piece made from love and frustration for the people I work with:

Places is not a suggestion

Next was a piece also based in theatre, and inspired by another’s work:

Theatre Tech

This blog pretty much blew up that day lol

Then I finished a not-so-small, but still pretty easy project for this month’s Sprite Stitch Challenge: use only three colours…

IMG_0863

As soon as I’m finished with this one, I’ll go back and work on the 3 pieces I have left for the secret project (as that actually has a deadline…and it’s closing in fast!!), and I have a big project in the queue for right after that, that I’m super excited about.

This entry was posted in Cross stitch and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WIPocalypse June 2014

  1. Pingback: WIPocalypse June 2014 | Tinseltown Times

  2. Cathie J says:

    Great stitching. I love what you did for the three color challenge.

  3. Marcy says:

    Bet your mom was surprised 😊. Your projects look great.

  4. typenstitch says:

    How exciting that you were able to surprise your mom! Your stitching looks so fun. I love the 3-color silhouettes!

Leave a Reply

