WIPocalypse July 2014

Another full moon, another update!

I finally finished all those secret stitches, and I still can’t post them. I was actually panicking because I used a blue wash-out fabric marker to mark the center of all of them, and when I went to wash out the marks, they turned brown!! I was so upset. Before I did anything to even try to rectify the situation, I’m not ashamed to say that I cried for like an hour.

After that, I bought some internet minutes (because I was on the ship, and we have to get internet minutes like phone minutes…it’s expensive-ish), and Googled my fingers off. One website said that rubbing alcohol would take out the marks, but all I had at my disposal was a box of alcohol prep pads. I tried scrubbing the marks with those, and they seemed to work, but barely.

Then I found this quilting website, and that article was about my same problem. She ended up washing her quilt in a vinegar/water mix, and it fixed it. I agonized, because I couldn’t buy vinegar for two days. I just kept staring at the upper bunk in my cabin, where I was keeping the tainted cloths. When I finally got the vinegar, I made about a 1:1 mix with water, and let them soak for about an hour. Worked like a charm!! The white fabric even looked a little whiter! Or maybe I was just so happy the brown was gone…

Conclusion: Stubborn fabric marker marks? Vinegar.

So, topic time…

Topic:  It’s halfway to Christmas.  Do you start your holiday stitching this early?  If so, what do you hope to accomplish this year?

I am not sure where I’ll be fore Chrismakkah this year, and not sure what I’ll be giving everyone. I have started this early in the past, but we’ll see.

I was inspired by the positive feedback from my last theatre-based cross stitch and pattern (mostly pattern), so I tried coming up with a couple more. I finished this one a few days ago:

It’s a visual representation of one of Shakespeare’s most famous (if not the most famous) stage directions: [exit, pursued by a bear]. Out of context it’s a little ridiculous. And did they have an actual bear in the Globe for this? Or just a guy in a costume?

Some of my friends think this is too abstract to be understood. Prove them wrong, theatre geeks!

I also started a rather big project to be going on in the background of all my other project ideas. Think the Triforce of Badassery that I made for Frank, but Harry Potter, and for myself 🙂

IMG_0898

This entry was posted in Cross stitch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WIPocalypse July 2014

  1. tikistitches says:

    I like your Shakespeare piece, well done. Look forward to seeing more of the Harry Potter piece. Are you designing all the little motifs yourself?

  2. tikistitches says:

    Now I look forward to seeing it even more. Great color choice. Thanks for sharing the link.

Leave a Reply

