Wedding Stitches: Part 7

As much as Frank loves LotR, I love Harry Potter. There were a few quotes to choose from, but ultimately I went with the most popular one. Then I read a pretty controversial panel from…LeakyCon, I believe…about how Snape didn’t really love Lily, that he was just stalkerishly infatuated with her…. While the panel did raise some interesting points, I decided to use the quote anyway, because the series is more or less from Harry’s point of view, and that’s how he understood Snape’s words.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA“After all this time? Always”

This was done on 14 count aida. I struggled a bit on this one. I couldn’t find a font I wanted, and then when I kind of did, and kind of created this one, I couldn’t decide on colors. Scarlet and gold? Black outline with the inside scarlet and gold thread together? Wait! What about silver and green? Settling on the simple black, gold, and silver was probably the best choice.

Then I remembered that when I designed the piece, I designed it over two, on 14 count aida…that wasn’t going to work for me. So, I redesigned the whole thing to be bigger…well, now the huge doe looks stupid.

Finally, I decided that the doe should be an afterthought-ish icon, not the focus of the quote. I like the way it turned out.

This entry was posted in Cross stitch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wedding Stitches: Part 7

  1. Pingback: Quote Challenge | Backstage Stitches

Leave a Reply

