Spooky Trees

The first thing I built for my internship in Alaska was for a Young Performers Theatre production of Wizard of Oz. I was tasked to design and build trees for the Haunted Forest.

My first designs:

IMG_2620.JPG

They were nixed for being too complicated to jigsaw out of luan. Fair enough. I liked them, though, so I started embroidering one:

IMG_2737

I might do the others some time.

Here are my approved drawings:

IMG_2626

Simple. So now, the building of the trees and their wheeled bases:

IMG_2627.JPG

IMG_2625
IMG_2624
IMG_2623

IMG_2630

IMG_2631.JPG
Then we had to paint them. My TD has a foam paint roller that he carved for a bark effect.

IMG_2641

IMG_2638

IMG_2640

IMG_2637

IMG_2639

And I took a terrible picture of them in use:

IMG_2648.JPG

And that was the first carpentry job I had in my internship 🙂

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Embroidery, Other Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

